Quick Access

House of Representatives


2nd Session of the 10th Republican Parliament

Private Motion: Dismantling of National Security Systems

WHEREAS the crime situation in Trinidad and Tobago has continued to escalate;

AND WHEREAS the former PNM administration had initiated a number of systems and strategies to deal with the crime situation in Trinidad and Tobago;

AND WHEREAS the current government of Trinidad and Tobago has taken certain actions to weaken the national security systems and structure in Trinidad and Tobago;

AND WHEREAS the action of the current government has contributed to the escalation of crime in Trinidad and Tobago

BE IT RESOLVED that this House take note of the systematic dismantling of the national security systems and structures in Trinidad and Tobago and to call on the government to cease this action and to take steps to put in place an effective national security system which would have the effect of securing the borders and by extension the citizenry of Trinidad and Tobago to bring about a reduction in crime in Trinidad and Tobago.

(By the Member for Laventille East/Morvant

First Debated: 27-Jan-2012
Speakers in the:
House of Representatives
27-Jan-2012 House Debate - Day 1 | Hansard PDF icon (183.3 kb)
Ms. Donna Cox, MP [Laventille East/Morvant] [Opposition Member]
Sen. the Hon. Brig. John Sandy [Minister of National Security]
Mr. Colm Imbert, MP [Diego Martin North/East] [Opposition Member]
23-Mar-2012 House Debate - Day 2 | Hansard PDF icon (147.0 kb)
Hon. Herbert Volney, MP [St. Joseph] [Minister of Justice]
Mr. NiLeung Hypolite, MP [Laventille West] [Opposition Member]
27-Apr-2012 House Debate - Day 3 | Hansard PDF icon (215.6 kb)
Hon. Dr. Roodal Moonilal, MP [Oropouche East] [Minister of Housing and the Environment and Leader of the House]
Dr. Amery Browne, MP [Diego Martin Central] [Opposition Member]
25-May-2012 House Debate - Day 4 | Hansard PDF icon (489.2 kb)
Hon. Dr. Surujrattan Rambachan, MP [Tabaquite] [Minister of Foreign Affairs and Communication]
Hon. Dr. Keith Rowley, MP [Diego Martin West] [Leader of the Opposition]
Hon, Jack Warner, MP [Chaguanas West] [Minister of Works and Infrastructure]
// ]]>