Quick Access

House of Representatives


3rd Session of the 10th Republican Parliament

GATE Programme

WHEREAS the Government Assistance for Tertiary Education Programme (GATE) was established by a People's National Movement administration and is available to all citizens of Trinidad and Tobago pursuing approved programmes, at local and regional public Tertiary Level Institutions (TLIs) as well as approved local private TLIs;

AND WHEREAS the GATE programme with governing regulation for efficient implementation was established in pursuance of a policy of equity in access to tertiary education for all qualifying citizens, irrespective of social status or means, in order to impact positively the rate of transition from secondary to tertiary level so as to achieve a larger pool of qualified nationals capable of supporting national development goals;

AND WHEREAS there have been reports that the Government proposes to support areas of priority study based on National Imperatives that have not been defined or agreed upon by the citizenry;

AND WHEREAS there have been further reports that the Government proposes that tuition fees for undergraduate programmes at both private and public institutions will be funded at varying rates based on a system of socio-economic priority that has not been defined or agreed by the citizenry:

BE IT RESOLVED that the Government immediately stop any proposed amendment to the rules that currently govern the GATE programme that either discriminates against young nationals on the basis of income or class, or dictates preferred courses of study that will attract funding, contrary to the individual's choice for self-development.

(By the Member for Port of Spain North/St. Annís West)

First Debated: 30-Nov-2012
Speakers in the:
House of Representatives
30-Nov-2012 House Debate - Day 1 | Hansard PDF icon (591.7 kb)
Mrs. Patricia McIntosh, MP [Port-of-Spain North/St. Ann's West] [Opposition Member]
Sen. the Hon. Fazal Karim [Minister of Tertiary Education and Skills Training]
Hon. Dr. Tim Gopeesingh, MP [Caroni East] [Minister of Education]
22-Feb-2013 House Debate - Day 2 | Hansard PDF icon (197.3 kb)
Hon. Dr. Tim Gopeesingh, MP [Caroni East] [Minister of Education]
Mr. Colm Imbert, MP [Diego Martin North/East] [Opposition Member]
Hon. Carolyn Seepersad-Bachan, MP [San Fernando West] [Minister of Public Administration]
22-Mar-2013 House Debate - Day 3 | Hansard PDF icon (252.2 kb)
Mr. Fitzgerald Jeffrey, MP [La Brea] [Opposition Member]
Hon. Dr. Surujrattan Rambachan, MP [Tabaquite] [Minister of Local Government]
Hon. Dr. Roodal Moonilal, MP [Oropouche East] [Minister of Housing, Land and Marine Affairs]
// ]]>