Quick Access



4th Session of the 11th Republican Parliament

Legislation to allow for Parliamentary Scrutiny of the EBC

WHEREAS it is established by Section 71(1) and (12) of the Constitution of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago, that there shall be an Elections and Boundaries Commission that in the exercise of its functions shall not be subject to the direction or control of any other person or authority;

AND WHEREAS the Elections and Boundaries Commission is responsible for holding free and fair elections throughout Trinidad and Tobago;

BE IT RESOLVED that the Senate take note that the Elections and Boundaries Commission is not subject to any parliamentary scrutiny or accountability in respect of its activities and operations unlike other similar independent bodies such as Service Commissions;

AND BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Senate call on the Government to take urgent steps to introduce legislation that would make the Elections and Boundaries Commission accountable to the citizenry of Trinidad and Tobago by allowing parliamentary scrutiny of its administration, the manner of the exercise of its powers, methods of functioning and any criteria adopted by the Commission in the exercise of its powers and functions.

(By Senator Wade Mark)

First Debated: 30-Apr-2019
Speakers in the:
30-Apr-2019 Senate Debate - Day 1 | Hansard PDF icon (678.7 kb)
Sen. Wade Mark [Opposition Senator]
Sen. the Hon. Franklin Khan [Minister of Energy and Energy Industries]
Sen. Paul Richards [Independent Senator]
Sen. Khadijah Ameen [Opposition Senator]
Sen. Foster Cummings [Government Senator]
28-May-2019 Senate Debate - Day 2 | Hansard PDF icon (603.3 kb)
Sen. Foster Cummings [Government Senator]
Sen. Deoroop Teemal [Independent Senator]
Sen. Saddam Hosein [Opposition Senator]
Sen. the Hon. Jennifer Baptiste-Primus [Minister of Labour and Small Enterprise Development]
Sen. Hazel Thompson-Ahye [Independent Senator]
Sen. Ashvani Mahabir [Opposition Senator]
Sen. Harvey Borris [Government Senator (Temporary)]
Sen. Dr. Varma Deyalsingh [Independent Senator]
// ]]>